Altona Village Traders Association Inc
(Includes a directory of local shops and businesses)

Altona Laverton Historical Society

Hobsons Bay Arts Society

Hobsons Bay Community Centres
For a list of community centres and their programs and activities, download the following guide here.

Hobsons Bay Libraries
Our local libraries are great community hubs. Please visit the Hobsons Bay Libraries website – it’s worth a look!

Go West – Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Intersex and Queer in Hobsons Bay
Local services and events for our local GLBTIQ community!

Indigenous Community
The council is committed to a reconciliation policy that respects our indigenous community and history, raises awareness of indigenous history, arts and culture, and seeks to assist closing the identified gap where possible. This includes an official friendship alliance with Yarrabah Shire Council, holding events during Reconciliation and NAIDOC Weeks, and more. For more information, visit:

For services for our diverse multicultural community, visit:

Almost 20% of our local community have a disability. For information about local support, programs and services for people affected by a disability, visit:

Young People
The council proudly provides a range of services for our young people. For more information visit:

Senior Citizens
We have a growing population of residents over the age of 60. For details about the various services and programs for our senior citizens, visit:

Sports and Recreation
For details about local sporting and recreational facilities and clubs, visit:


State Members of Parliament

I advocate for our community on a number local issues that are controlled by the State Government, including Services for people with disabilities, Public Transport, Housing, Air and Water quality, Policing, Roads (including Civic Parade, Maidstone Street and Millers Road) and Education. To assist with this advocacy, please feel free to contact the following Members of Parliament to discuss your concerns and needs:


Jill Hennessey MLA
Member for Altona District (includes Altona, Altona Meadows, Laverton & Seabrook)
Address: Suite 603, Level 1, 2 Main Street, Point Cook Town Centre, Point Cook VIC 3030
Phone: (03) 9395 0221
Fax: (03) 9395 3061



Wade Noonan MLA
Member for Williamstown District (which includes Seaholme)
Address: 101 Douglas Parade, Williamstown VIC 3016
Phone: (03) 9399 9022
Fax: (03) 9397 7227



Bernie Finn MLC
Member of Western Metropolitan Region
Address: 277 Hampshire Road, Sunshine 3020
Phone: (03) 9312 1212
Fax: (03) 9312 4598



Andrew Elsbury MLC
Member of Western Metropolitan Region
Address: Shop 1, 662 Old Calder Highway, Keilor 3036
Phone: (03) 9331 7644
Fax: (03) 9331 7430


Colleen Hartland MLC
Member of Western Metropolitan Region
Address: 75 Victoria Street, Seddon VIC 3011
Phone: (03) 9689 6373
Fax: (03) 9689 6227



Martin Pakula MLC
Member of Western Metropolitan Region
Address: 231 Hyde Street, Yarraville VIC 3013
Phone: (03) 9689 6536
Fax: (03) 9689 5832



Mr Khalil Eideh MLC
Member of Western Metropolitan Region
Address: Suite 2, 80 Carmody Drive, Cairnlea VIC 3023
Phone: (03) 99363 1644
Fax: (03) 9363 1766


Environment Contacts

EPA Pollution Watch (24 hour line): 9695 2777 or 1300 372 842

Altona Complex Neighbourhood Consultative Group(Qenos Pty Ltd, BASF Australia Ltd, Dow Chemical (Australia) Ltd and Styron): 1800 061 050 (24 hour free-call).
For non-urgent matters, contact the ACNCG on 9258 7333 or

Mobil Altona Refinery 24 Hour Environment Hotline: 1800 659 527


Media Contacts

If you want to raise the profile of local issues I also encourage you to contact the editors and journalists of the local and metropolitan press, and perhaps even talkback radio. Relevant ones in particular are:

  • Hobsons Bay Weekly
  • Hobsons Bay Leader
  • Hobsons Bay Star
  • The Herald Sun
  • The Age
  • 774 ABC


Relevant State Ministers

The Hon Ted Baillieu
Premier of Victoria
Phone:  (03) 9651 5000



Hon Matthew Guy MP
Minister for Planning
Phone:  (03) 9938 5990



Hon Terry Mulder MP
Minister for Roads and Public Transport
Level 3, 1 Treasury Place, Melbourne, VIC 3002
Phone:  9651 1222


Federal Members of Parliament

I also advocate for our community on a number issues that are controlled by the Federal Government including funding for community projects, aged services, use of fumigation on products being exported (especially when used close to homes), and tertiary education.  To contact the members of parliament regarding these issues please contact the following Members of Parliament:


Julia Gillard MP
Member for Lalor
Address:  Shop 2, 36 Synnot Street  Werribee  VIC  3030
Phone:  (03) 9742 5800
Fax:  (03) 9741 6213



Nicola Roxon MP
Member for Gellibrand
Address:  1 Thomas Holmes Street, Maribyrnong  VIC  3032
Phone:  (03) 9317 7077
Fax:  (03) 9317 7477



Click here to join my mailing list